Comrades in Arms Discussion Board
Mission making questions - Printable Version

+- Comrades in Arms Discussion Board (http://forum.ciahome.net)
+-- Forum: Comrades in Arms Life (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Mission Making (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: Mission making questions (/showthread.php?tid=2956)

Pages: 1 2 3


Mission making questions - Watchmen - 04-05-2015

I've got some broad questions about some coop mission scenarios i dont know to create in the editor.



1. This is about a type of mission objective i dont know how to make. Ive heard it was possible to create a type of mission where you retrieve an object(intel) and bring it back to a checkpoint to complete a mission. Now i have no idea how to go about this, what type of items i need, triggers, script commands.


2. This is about the concept of surviving waves of enemies to protect a particular area. Lets say you and co. have to defend a base from waves from enemies, when all the waves of enemies are eliminated you win, if you leave the area, you loose. How do you setup groups of enemies to attack in waves and how do you make sure that all of them have to be dead before the trigger for "win" activates(surely you cant use !alive(man1-man50). Also how to make it such that leaving the area will result in a loss.


3. A very well known type of mission, ambushing.

When setting up the enemy ai to be ambushed, how do you set the trigger conditions for when all the enemy units have died(once again, do you name every individual unit). And how do you make the enemy convoy not just drive past you when they take fire but stop, get out and start firing back.


4. Stealth missions. This is a tricky thing to work with because the ai are generally not designed to react accordingly to detection and communicate with each other. Say during a night stealth mission a sentry detects you+teammates and fires, the enemy behindr the hill 200m away does not move in your direction to hunt your group down.

I suppose the best way to get my answer is to ask how do you go about making your own stealth mission and what settings/features do you setup the enemy ai with(eg: waypoints...)


Thanks for taking the time to anwer, the guys on this forum have been very helpfulSmile




Re: Mission maker questions - Outlawz7 - 04-05-2015


Re: #1:
http://ciahome.net/forum/mission-making/check-if-item-is-in-anyone's-inventory/


Re: #2 and 3:


Instead of naming units, count units in a group.


In init field of any soldiers belonging to a group:
"mygroup=group this;"


In trigger activation:
"({alive _x} count units mygroup == 0)" or "({alive _x} count units mygroup < 3)"


https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/group
https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/units
https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/count


That's how I did my wave defense mission, counting the group's units.
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=332158891

Re: #4


One thing I have tried but haven't used in a released mission was using https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/knowsAbout instead of 'detected by' triggers.

I think the condition was sth like:
"isServer AND ({EAST knowsAbout _x > 3} count units mygroup == count units mygroup)"


where isServer check is to ensure the command working (see the BIKI page Multiplayer note), EAST is the side of the enemy and 'knowsAbout _x > 3' means that EAST are fully aware of whoever _x is and 'count units mygroup == count units mygroup' means that condition is true when EAST knowsAbout _x > 3 turns true the same amount of times as there are members in mygroup (meaning everyone in the group has been fully detected).




I'd recommend you take a look at Mr. Murray's editing guide for ArmA1, I think basic coding/concepts still apply (it helped me for A2)
http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=4847


Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 04-07-2015

5. Suppose i wanted to put a task, destroy the windmills on Altis or a building (like the radio station on stratis in the first campaign). What is the easiest way to do that?


6. This is a question about arranging the order of tasks.

I have Task A and Task B. A has to be completed before B can. But if you fail A you cannot complete B, even if you meet the conditions for B to succeed after failing A. My way of doing this is deleting the taskb module with deletevehicle. Is there a "neater" way of doing this, also maybe to make it fit more suitably into a seperate and more complex framework.
https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/playableUnits
https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/allUnits





Re: Mission maker questions - Outlawz7 - 04-07-2015

Re 5: Group trigger to static object, set to 'not present'. Make sure the trigger area covers the object.


Re 6: Not familiar with vanilla task module but you could use public variables ie.
in init:
taskAcomplete=false


in task A trigger activation
taskAcomplete=true

in task B trigger condition:
someOtherCondition AND taskAcomplete



Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 04-08-2015

Now i know why it never worked, thank you.



Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 05-11-2015

7. How do you create the white words appear on the side of the screen which appear when you start every campaign level.
They tell you the time, date, location based the actual location and time, not a pre typed infotext message.


8. Under the empty tab in the editor there is a section intel(interactive), when you pick up this item it takes you to the diary. What can you do with this and is it possible to use it with reference to Q1


Re: Mission maker questions - Alwarren - 05-11-2015

(05-11-2015, 03:31 PM)Watchmen link Wrote: 7. How do you create the white words appear on the side of the screen which appear when you start every campaign level.
They tell you the time, date, location based the actual location and time, not a pre typed infotext message.

What's the difference? Whether you use a literal string or a constructed string is the same thing.

Here's a function I use to create a date string from the current time:

Code:
/* Create a string for the given date.
* Date is standard 'date' output, i.e. [year, month, day, hour, minute]
*/

private ["_year", "_day", "_month", "_endString"];
_year = _this select 0;

_day = _this select 2;

_month = ["Unknowinus", "January", "February", "March", "April", "May", "June", "July",
          "August", "September", "October", "November", "December"]
         select (_this select 1);

_endString = "th";
if (_day == 1 || _day == 21 || _day == 31) then
{
    _endString = "st";
};

if (_day == 2 || _day == 22) then
{
    _endString = "nd";
};


_dateString = format["%1 %2%3, %4", _month, _day, _endString, _year];

_dateString;

Called as

_dateString = date call FHQ_fnc_date2String;

Location is more difficult. You could search for the nearest town center (I think those still exist in Arma 3), but in general, you will want to obtain that information otherwise.

Quote:8. Under the empty tab in the editor there is a section intel(interactive), when you pick up this item it takes you to the diary. What can you do with this and is it possible to use it with reference to Q1

I don't think those are usable, they are for use with Zeus.


Re: Mission maker questions - Outlawz7 - 05-11-2015

(05-11-2015, 03:31 PM)Watchmen link Wrote: 8. Under the empty tab in the editor there is a section intel(interactive), when you pick up this item it takes you to the diary. What can you do with this and is it possible to use it with reference to Q1


http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?176565-Interactive-Intel-Items


Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 05-11-2015

What i really wanted was the string for location, i messed around with drawdown 2035 from the WS in the editor and it has exactly that codes that i want. The text changes based on location to the nearest "location", it seems at least stratis is divided into sectors(digitally) but the files are a whole maze i cant be bothered to search through.


https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=295250549


This is the string i currently use for date
str(date select 2) + "." + str(date select 1) + "." + str(date select 0)




Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 05-16-2015

So i'm still stuck with how to create those white words that will tell you your location and the time


Re: Mission maker questions - Outlawz7 - 05-16-2015

https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_typeText


http://www.armaholic.com/forums.php?m=posts&q=11353


Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 05-17-2015

Those are scripts where the text is written beforehand. I am talking about a single script that will generate the name of your location based on where your solider is, not a pre constructed message. Stop linking posts about the first type of code, that is not what my question is about at all.


Re: Mission maker questions - Variable - 05-17-2015

(05-17-2015, 05:07 AM)Watchmen link Wrote: Stop linking posts about the first type of code, that is not what my question is about at all.
Watchmen, you are out of line. Here, we are grateful for any sort of effort to help.


Re: Mission maker questions - Outlawz7 - 05-17-2015

Write one then use those functions to display it.

https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/nearestLocations

Here's a quick one

Code:
_nearbyLocations = nearestLocations [ position player, ["NameCity","NameCityCapital","NameLocal","NameMarine","NameVillage"], 5000];
_nearestLocation = _nearbyLocations select 0; 
_locationText  = text _nearestLocation;
_messageText = format["Near %1...",_locationText];
_introTitle = [[[_messageText, "<t size='1.0' font='puristaMedium'>%1</t>",50]],safezoneX,0.6,"<t color='#FFFFFFFF' align='left'>%1</t>"] spawn BIS_fnc_typeText;



Re: Mission maker questions - Watchmen - 05-17-2015

I hope I don't come across as ungrateful or demanding because that is really not what I am trying to bring across. I've been trying to explain the nature of what I mean without being misunderstood in the same manner despite my attempted explanations to correct it. I am grateful and have thanked outlaws and alwaren a few times already to show my gratitude.