Comrades in Arms Discussion Board
Upgrading CPU, do I need to? - Printable Version

+- Comrades in Arms Discussion Board (http://forum.ciahome.net)
+-- Forum: Comrades in Arms Life (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Technical Support (http://forum.ciahome.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Upgrading CPU, do I need to? (/showthread.php?tid=2887)

Pages: 1 2

Upgrading CPU, do I need to? - McGregor - 01-29-2015

I have an I5 2500K that I have been rocking for a few years. I have it running rock solid @ 4.6 GHz (water cooled). I'm thinking of an upgrade but is there any point? Would I see any real performance gain and not only like 3 FPS increase in for example Arma. Keep in mind I only game on this machine, nothing else

Re: Upgrading CPU, do I need to? - alias - 01-29-2015

CPU seems fine, i'd rather look into a new video card. However my knowledge in CPU performances and tests is limited.

Re: Upgrading CPU, do I need to? - Variable - 01-29-2015

McGregor, I have an i7 950 for 7 years and I I can wholeheartedly recommend the i7 brand. I had zero problems with it over the years (apart from overheating due to me neglecting to dust it), and it still runs everything that comes out on high settings. I'm surprised it lasted all these years, I wonder how many it still got in it. As I understand the Intel CPUs are recommended for Arma 3, but I'm no expert.

Re: Upgrading CPU, do I need to? - Fap - 01-29-2015

I am bad at reading! Tongue

I would only recommend upgrading your water cooling a bit more, so you could reach 5-5.2 on the 2500K.
You will probably see around a 6ish fps increase from overclocking going from 4.6 to 5, much more in CPU intensive scenarios/games. (i7's only really offer hyperthreading, and that is never really a benefit in games, i've seen people get weird stutters because of it in various games.. and the price premium is not worth it)